Andrew Schultz music news

Blog and news for

‘Thunderous and frightening’ Harmonia Belli by Andrew Schultz in Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra


The Diggers’ Requiem Brass – Melbourne

  • St Paul’s Cathedral, 209 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, VIC, 3000 Australia (map)


The Diggers’ Requiem Brass – Sydney

  • Pitt St Uniting Church, 264 Pitt Street, Sydney, NSW, 2000 Australia(map)



Diggers Requiem Brass brings you the spirit of the upcoming Diggers Requiem in a FREE concert not to be missed, commemorating the end of WWI.


The Diggers’ Requiem represents – in 12 movements – the battles of Fromelles, Pozières, Bapaume, Bullecourt, Villers-Bretonneux, Hamel, Amiens, Péronne and Mont Saint-Quentin, Bellenglise, Montbrehain, Ypres and Passchendaele in Belgium. It refers to death of the Red Baron and the charge of Beersheba in Palestine, which was the last great charge of cavalry. 62,000 bells representing each Australian who died are incorporated into the last movement, Lux Aeterna.

The different movements were written by some of the greatest Australian contemporary composers, as well as the recently discovered Frederick Septimus Kelly, who died at Beaumon-Hamel in 1916. His Lament of the Somme, which evokes the Battle of Pozières, near Albert, was written just two weeks before his death. Elena Kats-Chernin, who finished writing her piece last year, will evoke the battle of Bullecourt in the Pas-de-Calais. Alex Lithgow who wrote the stirring Victoria March, which was played by the Australian Army as it marched into Bapaume in 1917, has his work incorporated into Nigel Westlake’s the Glass Soldier, a piece for trumpet and orchestra. A lone piper plays a lament by Pipe-Major John Grant in the last movement..

This extraordinary symphonic work was devised and curated by Christopher Latham, Artistic Director of the Flowers of War project, and the first musical artist-in-residence at the Australian War Memorial.


  • GF Handel Dead March from Saul
  • FS Kelly The Somme Lament
  • Nigel Westlake / Alex Lithgow The Liberation of Bapaume
  • Elena Kats-Chernin LacrimosA
  • Richard Mills The Charge at Beersheba
  • Elena Kats-Chernin The Silent Field  
  • Nigel Westlake I Was Blinded, But Now I See
  • Andrew Schultz Harmonia Belli
  • Graeme Koehne  Pie Jesu
  • John Grant Lament for the Pipers Who Fell in the Great War
  • Ross Edwards Lux Aeterna – In Paradisum
  • Christopher Latham Prayer for Peace – Pie Jesu II


Paul Goodchild trumpet (AUS), David Novak accordion (Slovenia), Simone Riksman soprano (Holland), Christina Wilson mezzo (AUS), Andrew Goodwintenor (AUS), David Hidden baritone, Jason Craig bagpipes (AUS). Directed by Christopher Latham.

TICKETS – Free concert


The Diggers’ Requiem – Canberra

  • Choir and Orchestra – Australian Premiere




You can listen to the recording made in Canberra at this URL:


Read a review:

“Within the 90-minute structure, performed continuously without intermission, there were some memorable highlights. Simone Ricksman’s glorious singing of Graeme Koehne’s Pie Jesu moved many to tears. In his Sanctus movement depicting the demise of the Red Baron, Nigel Westlake had the genesis of a cello concerto, which was handsomely delivered by Simon Cobcroft, principal of the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. Andrew Schultz’s homage to General Monash and the AIF, Harmonia Belli, was a thunderous and frightening evocation of the actual percussion of battle, on the ground and in the air.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: